What happened to the Copa del Rey final?

What happened to the Copa del Rey final?

Real Sociedad won the final 1–0 thanks to a second-half penalty converted by Mikel Oyarzabal, achieving their third overall Copa del Rey title and first since 1987, ending a 34-year trophy drought.

Who is the highest winner of Copa del Rey?

FC Barcelona
FC Barcelona has won more Copa del Rey championships than any other team, beating rival Real Madrid by 11 wins. Athletic Club de Bilbao also carries more titles than Madrid, with 23 victories.

Who scored in the Copa del Rey final?

Lionel Messi scored twice as Barcelona thrashed Athletic Bilbao 4-0 in the Copa del Rey final on Saturday to win the trophy for a record-extending 31st time with all the goals coming in the last half an hour.

What happened to Iniesta?

After spending 16 years at the club Andres Iniesta departed to play for the Japanese side Vissel Kobe in 2018. During his time at Barcelona, he went on to win everything and become one of the greatest midfielders to have ever played the sport.

Did Copa del Rey have second leg?

Semi-finals, first leg: 9 February. Semi-finals, second leg: 2 March. Final: 23 April. Following the final round of last 32 matches on Thursday evening, the 16 remaining teams have been finalized.

Why did Iniesta retire?

He came off the bench in the 67th minute in Spain’s last match at the tournament against Russia on 1 July 2018 for the round of 16. After the loss in the penalty shoot-outs, Iniesta announced his retirement from international duty.

Why did griezmann leave Barcelona?

His departure certainly has been largely unlamented, except as an expression of the gravity of the crisis at the Camp Nou. The Barcelona president Joan Laporta said this week that Griezmann was “not the player we needed,” just at the point at which he might have been.

Who is the best player in Copa del Rey?

Total minutes played

Pos. Player Total
1 Yeray | Athletic 577
2 Bounou | Sevilla 570
3 Griezmann | Barcelona 540

Who won the Spanish Copa del Rey 2021?

Barcelona won the match 4–0 for a record 31st Copa del Rey title….2021 Copa del Rey Final.

La Cartuja in Seville hosted the final.
Event 2020–21 Copa del Rey
Athletic Bilbao Barcelona 0 4
Date 17 April 2021
Venue La Cartuja, Seville

Is the Copa del Rey final two legs?

All rounds are single-leg ties with lower division teams hosting the match and the majority of the top-level clubs entering at the First Round (four teams taking part in the Supercopa de España entering in the Third round – last 32), other than the semi-final stage which is played over two legs.

What is Copa del Rey trophy?

The Copa del Rey is a primary annual knockout cup competition in Spanish football, held annually since 1903 when Athletic Bilbao became the first team to win the trophy.

When did the 2015 Copa del Rey final take place?

The 2015 Copa del Rey Final was an association football match on 30 May 2015 to decide the winner of the 2014–15 Copa del Rey, the 113th edition of Spain’s premier football cup since its establishment (including two seasons where two rival editions were played).

Did Barcelona beat Atletico Madrid in the Copa del Rey?

“Copa del Rey: Barcelona beat Atletico Madrid as Lionel Messi scores late on at Nou Camp”. Sky Sports News. Retrieved 4 March 2015. ^ “Atletico Madrid 2-3 Barcelona (agg 2-4): Neymar shoots down nine-man Rojiblancos in Copa cracker”. Goal.com. 28 January 2015. Retrieved 4 March 2015.

Who won the Copa de España 2015?

As Barcelona won both domestic tournaments, Athletic were the cup entrants in the 2015 Supercopa de España, in which they defeated Barcelona 5–1 on aggregate for their first trophy since their double in 1983–84. ^ “Treble comes into focus as Messi marches Barcelona to Copa title”.

Who was the last team to lose a Copa del Rey Final?

The last team to play a Copa del Rey Final at their own ground was Real Madrid, who lost in 2013 to Atlético Madrid and 2002 to Deportivo de La Coruña at their Santiago Bernabéu Stadium. Athletic Bilbao had previously played in 35 finals, winning 23, with only Barcelona winning more.