What are the 3 models of reflection?

What are the 3 models of reflection?

Guide to models of reflection – when & why should you use…

  • “Difficult, but important”
  • Gibbs reflective cycle (1988)
  • Kolb reflective cycle (1984)
  • Schön model (1991)
  • Driscoll model (1994)
  • Rolfe et al’s Framework for Reflexive Learning (2001)
  • Johns’ Model for Structured Reflection (2006)

What are the four models of reflection?

Based on theories about how people learn, this model centres on the concept of developing understanding through actual experiences and contains four key stages:

  • Concrete experience.
  • Reflective observation.
  • Abstract conceptualization.
  • Active experimentation.

What are the reflection models?

One of the most famous cyclical models of reflection leading you through six stages exploring an experience: description, feelings, evaluation, analysis, conclusion and action plan.

What are the models introduced by Schon?

Schön’s theory is that there are two types of reflection, one during and one after an activity or event. You are in a lecture and keep being distracted by thinking about what to have for lunch! You want to get the most from the lecture so need to find a way to help you focus.

What is Schon reflective model?

Reflection according to Donald Schon is the ability of professionals to ‘think what they are doing while they are doing it’. He states that managing the indeterminate zones of professional practice requires the ability to think on the run and use previous experience to new conditions.

What is the best model for reflection?

While not an extensive list, the reflective frameworks listed below are the most commonly used and each has its own page on this guide.

  • Kolb. Kolb’s Learning Cycle.
  • Gibbs. Gibbs’ Reflective Cycle.
  • Schön. Schön’s framework.
  • Rolfe et al. Rolfe et al’s framework.
  • ERA. The ERA framework.
  • Brookfield. Four lenses.

What is Dewey’s model of reflection?

Reflection is a deliberate and active process. It is about thinking to learn. In Dewey’s words it is an “active, persistent and careful consideration of any belief or supposed form of knowledge in the light of the grounds that support it, and further conclusions to which it leads” (Dewey 1933 pg. 118).

What is Atkins and Murphy model of reflection?

Atkins and Murphy believe that reflecting on your actions and how those actions affect the encounter and outcome is an important part of the role of a practitioner. The focus is on self development. Refection does not only add to our knowledge but challenges the concepts and theories we hold.

What is Driscoll model of reflection 1994?

This model focuses on 3 stem questions: “What?”, “So what?” and “Now what?” Matching these questions to an experiential learning cycle and adding trigger questions which can be used to promote the learning experience and reflect on what was learnt.

How many reflection models are there?

Two main types of reflection are often referred to – reflection-in-action and reflection-on-action. The most obvious difference is in terms of when they happen.

When was Schon reflective model?

One of Donald Schon’s greatest contributions to professional education was to stress the role of reflection within the learning process (Schon 1983). Examining professional practice, Schon identified two types of reflection: reflection-in-action and reflection-on-action.