How many movements does a Trout Quintet have?

How many movements does a Trout Quintet have?

The Trout Quintet (Forellenquintett) is the popular name for the Piano Quintet in A major, D. 667, by Franz Schubert. The piano quintet was composed in 1819, when he was 22 years old; it was not published, however, until 1829, a year after his death….Trout Quintet.

Piano Quintet in A major
Duration 35–43 minutes
Movements five

What is the form of the Trout Quintet?

Schubert writes not four movements, as convention — and Hummel’s model — dictate, but five: an exploratory sonata-form movement, a songlike andante, a dazzling scherzo, and the requested set of variations on Die Forelle slipped in just before the rollicking finale.

What is a quintet called?

A quintet is a group containing five members. It is commonly associated with musical groups, such as a string quintet, or a group of five singers, but can be applied to any situation where five similar or related objects are considered a single unit.

Who composed Trout Quintet?

Franz SchubertTrout Quintet / Composer

Trout Quintet, byname of Piano Quintet in A Major, five-movement quintet for piano and stringed instruments by Austrian composer Franz Schubert that is characterized by distinctive instrumentation and form.

Who composed the Trout Quintet?

Franz SchubertTrout Quintet / Composer

Which Schubert song was turned into a piece of chamber music?

In 1819 Sylvester Baumgartner—a music patron and amateur cellist in Steyr—commissioned Schubert to write a piece of chamber music based on “Die Forelle”; Schubert then wrote a quintet for piano and strings in which he quoted the song in a set of variations in the fourth movement.

What is a group of 10 musicians called?

In Western classical and jazz music, the terms duet (two), trio (three), quartet (four), quintet (five), sextet(six), septet (seven), octet (eight), nonet (nine) and dectet (ten), describe groups of two up to ten musicians and/or vocalists.