How many governor-general are there in India?

How many governor-general are there in India?

List of governors-general

Name (Birth–Death) Term of office
Governors-General and Viceroys of India, 1858–1947
The Viscount Canning (1812–1862) 1 November 1858 21 March 1862
The Earl of Elgin (1811–1863) 21 March 1862 20 November 1863
Robert Napier (acting) (1810–1890) 21 November 1863 2 December 1863

Who is the only Indian Governor-General of India?

C. Rajagopalachari
Upon independence in August 1947, the title of viceroy was abolished. The representative of the British Sovereign became known once again as the governor-general. C. Rajagopalachari became the only Indian governor-general.

Who was India’s last Governor-General?

Chakravarti Rajagopalachari
Louis Mountbatten, Earl Mountbatten of Burma became governor-general and oversaw the transition of British India to independence. Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878-1972) became the only Indian and last governor-general after independence.

Who is the last Governor-General of Bengal?

The correct answer is William Bentinck. Lord Willian Bentinck was the last Governor-General of Bengal. He became the first Governor-General of India after the Charter Act of 1833. He was the Governor-General of Bengal from 1828 to 1833 and the Governor-General of India from 1833 to 1835.

Who is the second Governor-General of Bengal?


Name Term Appointer
The Lord Amherst 1 August 1823 East India Company (1773–1858)
William Butterworth Bayley (acting) 13 March 1828
Governors-General of India (1834–1858)
Lord William Bentinck 4 July 1828 East India Company (1773–1858)

Who is the first Governor-General of Bengal?

Legacy. As the first governor-general of Bengal, Hastings was responsible for consolidating British control over the first major Indian province to be conquered.

Who is the first Bengal governor?

Warren Hastings
By a letter of 8 May 1771, the Court appointed Warren Hastings to be Governor of Bengal. By Act of Parliament 13 Geo. III., cap. 63, the Presidency of Fort William in Bengal will headed by a Governor-General, and Hastings was appointed as the first Governor-General.

Who is Lord Clive?

Robert Clive, in full Robert Clive, 1st Baron Clive of Plassey, (born September 29, 1725, Styche, Shropshire, England—died November 22, 1774, London), soldier and first British administrator of Bengal, who was one of the creators of British power in India.

Who is female Governor of India?

Sarojini Naidu
Sarojini Naidu was the first woman to become the governor of an Indian state….Governors.

S. No. 1
Name Sarojini Naidu
From 15 August 1947
To 2 March 1949
Term length 1 year, 199 days

Who was the youngest Governor?

The youngest person to ever serve as a governor in the United States was Stevens T. Mason of the Michigan Territory, first elected in 1835 having just turned 24. Mason would later become the first governor of the state of Michigan when it was admitted to the Union in January 1837, when he was 25.

What is the Nawab of Bengal?

The Nawab of Bengal (Bengali: বাংলার নবাব) was the hereditary ruler of Bengal Subah in Mughal India….Nawabs of Bengal and Murshidabad.

Nawab of Bengal
Style His Majesty
First monarch Murshid Quli Khan
Last monarch Siraj ud-Daulah (Independent) Mansur Ali Khan (Under British)
Formation 1717